“It’s too late once the clothes are off”, exclaimed a friend of mine on a casual Friday night of sipping Apple martinis. His remarks made me laugh out loud but they also made me think about body bashing and are we too Goddamn harsh on ourselves? Am I too Goddamn harsh on myself?

 

Hence, behold my Modern Guide to Self Love.

 

♡ Journal Your Feelings: Listen up people, I am tired of your awkward Facebook statuses and midnight rants. I am here for you but you wouldn’t need me if you did a Carrie Bradshaw every night. Writing is a huge outlet (Exhibit A this blog), it helps prevent unfavourable outbursts post-alcohol, Instagram fights and texting your ex when you miss him. All those things make you miserable and journaling helps control them. Embrace your feelings and respect them enough to protect them.

 

 

Own Who You Are: If Kylie Jenner can finally accept the lip fillers, I am going to finally accept my arm flab. No one is perfect and that is o-fucking-okay. Don’t hate yourself for your quirks. That shit makes you special. Acknowledge and practice what you are good at (ahem, sex doesn’t count) and acknowledge and slowly change/learn to live with what doesn’t work for you. I have a mouth of a filthy sailor and I change that at work and live with it when I play. That’s just how we roll, we own who we are.

 

 

 Build A Community: Surround yourself with people who love and encourage you. Let them remind you how amazing you are. I am a social person but I know who my friends are and who are the people I am going to let affect me. Toxic relationships should have no place in your life. Anyone who makes you feel anything less than how amazing you are doesn’t deserve a piece of you. Understood? Can I get an amen?

 

 

 Self Love Ritual: Shopping Trips, Weekend Getaways, Yoga or Jamming Out To AC/DC every morning. Whatever you self love poison, drink it. Personally, after a long week of being on my A-game, I like it sit back on Saturday nights, munch on cheese popcorn with TV marathons and drink red wine. You can do anything that makes you happy. This is your me time. Find a quiet place, clear out your schedule, shift your energy and just be one with yourself. Oh-so-zen.

 

 

 Discipline Your Body: In the words of Elle Woods from Legally Blonde, “exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t shoot their husbands, they just don’t.” And I completely agree! The first sign of an empty love tank is a face full of food. You don’t have to be a size zero but push your body to be the best it can be. Get in 3 days at the gym or run like Ryan Gosling is waiting for you at the other end of the park. Being fit makes you confident. Exercise releases happy chemicals to your brain and all I really want is for you to be happy.

 

How do you love yourself? Share thy truth! Also, for more of my self loving in pictures, follow me on instagram @rukutaneja. Now see you when I see you.

